History Today Christmas Subscription


Book Prize 2019

The Longman-History Today book prize is open to an author’s first or second book, written in English, on any aspect of History, published between 1 October 2017 and 31 September 2018. The winning book, which receives an award of £2,000, will display innovative research and interpretation and will have made its subject accessible to the general reader. Publishers should send one copy of each book they wish to nominate, together with a signed statement confirming eligibility, by 30 November 2018 to:

Book Prize, History Today, 2nd Floor, 9 Staple Inn, London, WC1V 7QH.

About the awards

Established in 1997, the Longman-History Today awards are made jointly by the publishers Longman and History Today magazine to foster a wider understanding of, and enthusiasm for, history. There are two main awards: Book of the Year, awarded for an author's first or second book, and the Historical Picture Researcher of the Year. There is also an undergraduate dissertation prize and the Trustees' Award, which recognises a person or organisation that has made a major contribution to history.


Emily Jones receives her prize from editor Paul Lay.

All the winners from this year's awards ceremony.

The six titles on the shortlist for our annual book prize.

All the winners from this year's awards ceremony. 

The shortlisted titles.

Six titles have made the shortlist for our annual book prize.

Some of the shortlisted books

All the news from our annual awards party.

The shorlisted titles

Seven titles have made the shortlist for our annual book prize.

All the winners from our annual event. 

A great historian of Poland and a survey of British Intelligence were among this year’s winners.

One of the great postwar publishing ventures and a highly original study of British attitudes to imperialism were among the winners at our annual celebration of excellence in history.

The shortlist for the best new history book of the year has been released.