Jump to Navigation

Pacific, War of the

(1879-83) War between Chile and Peru (allied with Bolivia) over control of nitrate-producing areas. Chile launched a seaborne invasion of Peru and occupied Lima in 1880. The war ended in 1883 with the Treaty of Ancon, ceding Peru's Tarapac province and Tacna to Chile. Bolivia signed the separate Treaty of Valparaiso ceding its entire coastline to Chile in 1884.

About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Subscriptions | Newsletter | RSS Feeds | Ebooks | Podcast | Submitting an Article
Copyright 2012 History Today Ltd. All rights reserved.