Jump to Navigation

Balkan wars

Two wars in the Balkans. In the first (1912), Bulgaria, Montenegro, Serbia and Greece expanded their territories at the expense of Ottoman Turkey, which was left only with the Gallipoli peninsula in Europe. The great powers preserved the independence of Albania (Treaty of London, 1913). In the second brief war, Bulgaria lost and conceded territory to Greece and Serbia by the Treaty of Bucharest (1913).

About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Subscriptions | Newsletter | RSS Feeds | Ebooks | Podcast | Submitting an Article
Copyright 2012 History Today Ltd. All rights reserved.