Jump to Navigation


State of northeastern India founded by 13th-century Ahom invaders. Invaded by Burma in 1819 and occupied by Britain in 1824 during the First Burma War, it was ceded to Britain by Burma in the Treaty of Yandabu in 1826. Incorporated into a province with East Bengal 1905, it was separate again by 1919 but partitioned between India and Pakistan in 1947.

About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Subscriptions | Newsletter | RSS Feeds | Ebooks | Podcast | Submitting an Article
Copyright 2012 History Today Ltd. All rights reserved.