Jump to Navigation

Charles Freeman discusses his research into one of history's greatest mysteries.

By Paul Lay | Posted Wed 29th October, 10:50

The Shroud of Turin, Joan of Arc's 'visions' and the invention of Total War.

By Paul Lay | Posted Thu 16th October, 09:16

Paul Lay reflects on the fashion for taking photographs in museums and galleries.

By Paul Lay | Posted Tue 30th September, 09:48

In the October edition of History Today, Linda Porter looks at the short but distinguished rule of James V of Scotland.

 

By Paul Lay | Posted Thu 11th September, 10:51

In embracing tattoos, the people of Britain are returning to their ancient roots, argues Paul Lay.

By Paul Lay | Posted Wed 3rd September, 09:20

Paul Lay reflects on the differences between his generation and that of his grandfather, who fought in the First World War.

By Paul Lay | Posted Tue 29th July, 08:15

A selection of readers' correspondence with the editor, Paul Lay.

By Paul Lay | Posted Thu 19th June, 08:02

Our editor Paul Lay picks the books he'll be packing to the beach this summer.

By Paul Lay | Posted Wed 11th June, 08:35

The furore over Michael Gove's plans for the English curriculum shows our collective amnesia over our rich sources of literature and history, writes Paul Lay.

By Paul Lay | Posted Fri 6th June, 10:34

The winners of this year's prestigious history prize have been announced.

By Paul Lay | Posted Tue 3rd June, 08:37

A selection of readers' correspondence with the editor, Paul Lay.

By Paul Lay | Posted Thu 15th May, 13:54

Archaeologists have confirmed that the town of Amesbury in Wiltshire, located two miles from Stonehenge, is the longest continuously occupied settlement in Britain.

By Paul Lay | Posted Fri 2nd May, 11:47

The cultural events planned to mark the centenary of the First World War have taken a turn for the bizarre.

By Paul Lay | Posted Tue 29th April, 13:06

A selection of readers' correspondence with the editor, Paul Lay.

By Paul Lay | Posted Thu 10th April, 12:56

About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Subscriptions | Newsletter | RSS Feeds | Ebooks | Podcast | Submitting an Article
Copyright 2012 History Today Ltd. All rights reserved.