Jump to Navigation

History Today Awards 2010

The 60th anniversary of History Today  was celebrated on the 12th January 2011 at our annual awards ceremony held, this year, in the Museum of London’s new Sackler Gallery.

The Longman-History Today Trustees Award, which is presented to a person, persons or organisation that has made a major contribution to history, went to Professor Tim Hitchcock of the University of Hertfordshire and Professor Robert Shoemaker of the University of Sheffield, directors of the groundbreaking digital projects The Old Bailey Proceedings Online and London Lives.

The winner of the 2010 Longman-History Today Book of the Year Award, given for an author’s first or second book, is Alan Allport for Demobbed: Coming Home After the Second World War (Yale), who received a cheque for £2,000.

The runner-up was James Mather for Pashas: Traders and Travellers in the Islamic World also published by Yale University Press. Highly commended were:

  • Matters of the Heart: History Medicine and Emotion, Fay Bound Alberti (OUP)
  • Selling Sex in the Reich: Prostitutes in German Society, 1914-45, Victoria Harris (OUP)
  • Bomber County: The Lost Airmen of World War Two, Daniel Swift (Hamish Hamilton)

The Longman-History Today Historical Picture Researcher of the Year Award and a cheque for £500 were presented to Julie McMahon for the Folio Society’s illustrated edition of Antony Beevor’s Stalingrad. The runner-up was Steve Behan, Picture Manager for Carlton Books, for The Battle of Britain by Richard Overy. 

Lastly, the 2010 Undergraduate Dissertation Prize, awarded in association with the Royal Historical Society, was given to Alexander Baggallay of the University of Edinburgh for Myths of Mau Mau Expanded: The Role of Rehabilitation in Detention Camps During the State of Emergency in Kenya, 1954-1960. Alexander also received a cheque for £250. The runner-up was David Kenrick of the University of Liverpool for his dissertation, also about British colonial history, entitled Identity and the Politics of Survival: White Rhodesia, 1965-1980


Longman Pearson logo

The Longman Pearson-History Today awards have been jointly established by History Today Ltd and the book publishers Longman Pearson Education to promote the study, publication and accessibility of history to a wide audience.

The awards, now in their 23rd year and given in memory of one of the founding editors of History Today, Sir Peter Quennell. They are announced at a gala event each January. The book or dissertation in question must have been published in the UK during the preceding year (November to November). Submissions have now closed for this year. The 2011 Awards will take place on 12th January 2011, at the Museum of London's Sackler Gallery

They fall in the following categories:

Book of the Year prize

Given for an author’s first or second book.

The Trustees award

Given to a person or organisation that has done most to promote history over the last year or years.

Picture Researcher of the Year

This prize is given to a researcher who has done outstanding work to enhance a text with the creative, imaginative and wide-ranging selection of appropriate images.

Undergraduate Dissertation of the Year

For the best dissertation presented by a final-year undergraduate at a British university.

Details of previous years can be found on the Award Winners page.

About Us | Contact Us | Advertising | Subscriptions | Newsletter | RSS Feeds | Ebooks | Podcast | Submitting an Article
Copyright 2012 History Today Ltd. All rights reserved.